Sign in to follow this  
Eli

Getting into Biomedical Informatics

For those who are studying Biomedical Informatics, what are some tips you would give to people who are looking to get started? Any particular resources or advice you can send their way? 

Hi, 

I am actually a biomedical informatics phd student - so I can help answer this question. :) 

First off, I think it's important that you are honest with why you are pursuing biomedical informatics. Are you doing it because you want to work in a research hospital, an industrial position? If that is the case, I have many friends who were able to secure great informatics jobs right after their masters (they also were steadfast on securing an internship DURING their masters.) That's very important, as it was their internship that helped secure that hard-earned job. ;)

On the contrary, are you doing it because you love research and teaching and that is what you want from your career? Then a phd is absolutely the better option and allows you to attain that career lifestyle!! 

There are lots of people who do get a phd and go into industry so pleaseee do not think that I am saying masters is the only way to get an industrial job. It is just seems like the masters allows you to get a job quicker & if that is your main prerogative, then it seems like the better option. 

• Like 1
  • Love 1

On 6/17/2017 at 0:55 PM, Stephanie_R said:

Hi, 

I am actually a biomedical informatics phd student - so I can help answer this question. :12_slight_smile:

First off, I think it's important that you are honest with why you are pursuing biomedical informatics. Are you doing it because you want to work in a research hospital, an industrial position? If that is the case, I have many friends who were able to secure great informatics jobs right after their masters (they also were steadfast on securing an internship DURING their masters.) That's very important, as it was their internship that helped secure that hard-earned job. ;)